Week 1: Check-In



Welcome back! I have made it through my first week, and man I can already tell the difference! I normally try to stay pretty active and eat relatively healthy, but planning it out ahead of time has allowed me to stick with my goals….which is precisely why I started this blog in the first place!

So lets check in on my meals and workouts to see how I did!




My blogs will include links to all recipes and planning tools I use, so that you can download and use on your journey to a fitter lifestyle. They will look something like this: >>> link <<<




Weekly Meals:

Monday:

For breakfast, I made yogurt parfait with 1/4 golden delicious apple (my absolute fav!), almonds, granola, and some cinnamon sprinkled on top!

You can buy yogurt parfaits at the store pre-made, but they are kind of expensive. I like to make them myself so I can pick the brands of yogurt and granola that I want, plus I know that the produce I use is fresh and isn’t filled with all sorts of preservatives.

I bought the little containers on Amazon for about $6, and they are totally worth it. They even have a little slot for me to stick my spoon! I just throw everything together in the morning and head off to class.

Monday Breakfast 2 Monday Breakfast Here is the recipe for this simple breakfast:

Yogurt Parfait

>>> Yogurt Parfait <<<


For lunch, I made romaine lettuce and baby spinach salad with baked chicken, mozzarella cheese, onion, and cucumber!

I’m not normally the biggest fan of salads, so I was iffy at first about making this and ONLY this for my lunch. But the baked chicken makes it super yummy! I also peeled an orange and used the left-over apple slices from breakfast as little side-dishes.

Monday Lunch 1 Monday Lunch 2 Here is the recipe: Baked Chicken Salad

>>> Romaine and Spinach Salad with Baked Chicken <<<


For dinner, I decided to try something new. I got this idea from a friend I follow on Instagram, who just so happens to be a nutritionist. I was surprised by how much I really loved it. The veggies help give it so much flavor! I intend to make this a regular on my dinner menu.

One thing to keep in mind when making this is that turkey does not brown the same way beef does, especially if it is extra lean turkey. It stays a very pale color even when completely cooked. So don’t burn them trying to get them to brown!

I also forgot to pick up broccoli when at the store, but fortunately had some edamame on hand to substitute it!

Monday Dinner 1

Monday Dinner 2

Here is the recipe I used for this yummy dish! Turkey Burger Recipe

>>> Turkey Burger <<<



Tuesday:

Most mornings, I throw together a yogurt parfait for breakfast. This morning was no exception. Instead of using apple I decided to go with some blueberries and raspberries. This is probably what I will have for breakfast for the rest of the week.

The raspberries are pretty big, and difficult to stir in. What I normally do is put a little bit of yogurt on them and eat them first, then mix all the other ingredients together. Super delicious!

Tuesday Breakfast 1  Tuesday Breakfast 2


For lunch, I just grabbed up left-overs from dinner, cored an apple, and peeled an orange. Took me a whole 2 minutes, which is perfect because I did NOT want to get out of bed and was already running late.

Tuesday Lunch


I know on my original weekly menu, I was supposed to make baked chicken and tortellini…but I still had so much leftover turkey meat, and didn’t want it to go bad. I also had a ton of homework, so I just went with leftovers yet again. I did finally get some broccoli and steamed those bad boys up, real nice!

I currently live by myself and am pretty easy to please, so having the same meal three times in a row was of no concern to me. Plus it was just so delicious.

Tuesday Dinner



Wednesday:

Remember when I said that I eat yogurt parfaits a lot? Wednesday Breakfast


I’m a big fan of turkey sandwiches. This week I’m trying something different. I recently discovered that I don’t hate avocados (thanks Renee for enlightening me), so I thought substituting mayonnaise for avocado spread would be a good way to make this healthier.

I also thought I’d try a new type of apple. I am particularly fond of the Golden Delicious, which are actually green…but whatever. I wanted to add some new colors and new flavors, so I grabbed an Ambrosia apple this time. Still very sweet, so it was a good choice. It was also softer, which made eating easier since I have braces.

I used deli fresh turkey, pepper jack cheese, and avocado spread for today’s lunch, paired with an apple and orange. I normally add cucumber or green bell pepper slices but didn’t have any on hand.

Wednesday Lunch


So I know that I was supposed to make Cajun Chicken Pasta for dinner tonight, and I had every intention of doing so until I got all the ingredients EXCEPT the chicken when I went to the store. Instead of wasting time and going back to grab one stupid chicken breast, I decided to add some of the ingredients bought for chicken pasta and instead use items I already had to make what was supposed to be Thursday’s dinner….Spaghetti.

I’ve never used fresh bell pepper, mushrooms, or onion in my spaghetti, so I was a little apprehensive on how it would turn out. But it was AMAZING! The best spaghetti that I’ve ever made!

Wednesday Dinner 1  Wednesday Dinner 2

Here is the recipe I used:

Spaghetti

>>> Spaghetti with Turkey Marinara <<<



Thursday:

Are we surprised? Thursday Breakfast


I love utilizing left-over dinners for lunch. I packed up some spaghetti the night before, and I think it was even better the second time around. Those added red pepper flakes give it an extra kick, which is wonderful. I love a little bit of spice, but not too much to where it over powers the taste of what you’re eating. I didn’t want to stop eating this, ever.

Thursday Lunch


Tonight I kind of cheated by eating some pizza, but I feel as though I have a good excuse. One of my very best friends is moving away on Sunday, so I went over to visit and help them pack up. We didn’t actually get anything done, but we did watch Son in Law which is pretty funny.

Honestly, I felt pretty guilty about deviating from my original meal plan, but I feel as though it is important too point out that I do not expect myself to eat perfectly every day for the rest of my life. Sometimes life happens. Spending a few hours laughing and visiting with my friends for the last time in who-knows how long was more important to me than making sure I ate a healthy, balanced meal. It was one night, one transgression. And I’m okay with that. When you set goals, in anything you do not just in diets or fitness, be realistic about the outcomes you hope to achieve.

I had two slices of Domino’s pepperoni and green chili pizza, and loved every single bite.

Thursday Dinner



Friday:

For breakfast today, I switched things up a bit. Normally, as you can all see, I would throw together a yogurt parfait and take to my Chemistry class to munch on. Fridays, however, I have lab and we aren’t allowed to take food or drinks in there (working with chemicals and all that lame stuff). It takes me at least 30 minutes to eat a yogurt parfait (I like the granola to get soggy) so instead I popped a Lean Cuisine Breakfast meal into the microwave.

My favorite is the Turkey Sausage scramble, its pretty low in calories, tastes amazing, and keeps me full until lunch time.

Friday Breakfast


For lunch, I stuck with my original meal plan and had leftover spaghetti for lunch. Seriously….so good!

Friday Lunch


For Dinner, I had planned on making chicken breast with a cheese sauce over it. That plan didn’t exactly fall through, and I blame it all on my fiance who came into town this weekend (he is always a bad influence on me).

We only get to see each other a few times a month, as he lives 3.5 hours away and works to help put me through my last semester of school. We enjoy getting out of the house when we are together, and as a result I did not end up cooking. We went to Ruby Tuesdays where I made a little salad before eating maybe 1/4 to 1/2 of my entree, which was a chicken and mushroom pasta thing:

Friday Dinner 1

Friday Dinner 2



Saturday:

This morning instead of eating the waffles I was so looking forward to, I threw another Lean Cuisine breakfast into the microwave for a few minutes and scarfed down. I seriously love those things. I was also busy visiting with Justin, my main squeeze, so I forgot to take a picture.


After breakfast, Justin and I went on a nice little hike then rewarded ourselves with some Buffalo Wild Wings. I had a snack sized order of Desert Heat wings, which were all right, and some fries with a cherry Pepsi. I don’t think I even ate half of this meal.

Saturday Lunch


For dinner, my future hubby made reservations at Outback Steakhouse, which is one of our favorite places. Making reservations was basically pointless as we still had to wait like 45 minutes to get a table, so I was getting hangry (poor Justin puts up with me so well). I honestly think we waited for a table longer than the time it actually took us to order our food once seated, eat, and then leave. But I was fed and happy, so thats all that matters.

Anyways, I got the Chicken Parmesan Pasta which is my absolute favorite. I was so freaking hungry when I finally got my food that I forgot to take a picture. 😦



Sunday:

I continued my weekend of failure today by not eating breakfast, then having a Carls Jr. hamburger for lunch. I was not at all satisfied with this choice. For dinner, I just heated up my leftover pasta from Ruby Tuesdays. I had two exams to study for, and was exhausted after a busy weekend with my fiance so I didn’t feel like cooking or doing dishes.




Weekly Workouts:

Monday:

Today was a pretty successful day. The mornings are still pretty chilly here in Las Cruces, and I’d have to be up and ready to get my jog on by 5:00 am each day in order to complete my run, get ready, and make it to class on time. As a result of all these combined factors, I did not get out of bed to go run. As the weather improves I’m going to make a real effort to get my butt up each morning.

I may have failed on cardio, but I killed it in the gym. I forgot my phone in my car so couldn’t take photographic evidence, but I DID go and I DID work my little tushy off!

Here is a detailed plan of my Monday activities:

Monday Workout


Tuesday:

I actually did my cardio workout today!! I wanted to die afterwards, but I still did it! I also surpassed my daily step goal of 10,000!! This does not include my cardio workout at the gym.

Cardio is definitely where I’m weakest, so I hope to improve my endurance over time. It will be fun to see the change over the coming weeks. But anyways, I digress….here is my how my Tuesday workout went: Tuesday Workout Printable Tuesday Cardio Tuesday Post Workout


Wednesday:

So today’s workout almost didn’t happen. I’m feeling super overwhelmed with school and trying to land a job when I graduate, and there just never seems to be enough hours in the day.

Despite all of that b.s. I got my Wednesday workout in. Still no cardio, but I did pull a good hour and 45 minutes lifting weights and stretching. It looks very similar to Monday’s workout, but I may or may not have forgotten to include a few things…. Wednesday Workout Plan Wednesday Gym


Thursday:

I got a pleasant surprise this week when my plants lab got cancelled! As a result, I got to sleep in!

These extra few hours of sleep gave me enough energy to actually get up and go for my jog. I forgot to charge my GearFit watch, but according to my phone I walked/jogged 4,193 steps which is the equivalent of 2.28 miles. I then showered and got ready for the rest of my day, excited to have my workout completed!

Close to 70 degrees here in the Land of Enchantment 🙂 Here is the running trail right by my house:

Thursday Workout


Friday:

Still no cardio, but I did make it to the gym!

Friday Workout 2

Friday Workout


Saturday:

Getting my fiance out of bed to go hiking with me was a real struggle. But in the end, victory was mine! We hiked what is locally referred to as “A” mountain, which is essentially this random hill owned by New Mexico State University that has this old abandoned Astronomy observatory at the top.

This hike has an elevation gain of about 4,931 feet. It took us roughly two hours to climb up and make it back down, which according to my phone was about 2.5 miles total. It was nice to get outside and spend some time together just laughing and wheezing as we made our way up the hillside.

Saturday Workout 1

Saturday Workout 2


Sunday:

Rest Day.




Body Measurements:

Each week, I hope to at least lose one pound on my journey to about 130 – 125 lbs. This week, I lost 3 lbs!

I know that weight fluctuates quite drastically, so I’m not taking this 3 lbs loss to heart…but it was nice to step on the scale and see some change in the right direction!

I forgot to use my tape measure to record actual body measurements, but I will do that today at the gym, then update this post.

Body Measurements Chart




So this was my week, in a nutshell. There is definitely room for improvement in my choices, particularly with weekend meals and morning cardio. I am going to make a real effort to work on these issues in the future, which is where you come in. Help me become accountable!

Please follow, like, or leave comments to let me know what you think of any of the recipes or workouts listed here!

6 thoughts on “Week 1: Check-In

    • I used a little bit of non-stick cooking spray on the pan. I think a little bit of olive oil would work, too.

      I normally don’t salt my food, and I only did a couple grinds so I honestly don’t know if I could even taste it or not. But I liked it 🙂

      Like

      • hmm I only had canola oil so that’s what I used to coat the bottom of the pan. could have been the pan too. Turkey’s pretty good huh! kinda want to get the family into it more. I like salt 😦 I’m getting better at it though

        Like

  1. The type of pan being used plays a big part in the stick-ability of whatever you’re making. I have all nonstick pans….which should be used with wooden or plastic utensils only so not to scratch the Teflon off. Bad things do happen to good people…especially if those good people scraped carcinogenic materials into their food.

    Like

Leave a Reply

